This video is found on Heidi’s Songs.com. They are brief video and song snippets that teach children sight words, classroom management tips and other fun things using sight, sound, movement, and voice. The songs are short and help children who have trouble focusing their attention for long periods of time.

Children with disabilities can participate with their peers as the entire class enjoys the music and moves.

In the Chinese Proverb: “Tell me and I’ll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I’ll understand,” a key point is made about children’s learning. It must involve them in some meaningful way. Songs, fngerplays, and movements all help children to remember concepts by the use of the senses. This is a valuable commodity to parents and teachers to utilize with young children.

3 thoughts on “Children Learn Through Music & Movement

  1. I think that movement is SO important! Are you familiar with the work of Dr. Harry Wachs? He and Hans Furth wrote Thinking Goes to School back in the early 80s(?…a long time ago!). Their work integrated constructivism with what they called “Body and Sense Thinking.” I was lucky to have attended many trainings with Dr. Wachs, and watching these children reminded me of how powerful their work was. The connection between self regulation and movement is so important, and when one adds working memory in (sequences of movement), it becomes a very effective way to develop executive function…as well as build sight word vocabulary!
    Great post!
    Stephanie

  2. Demetria Jones says:

    I believe in learning through song. We sing a numeral song (recognition of numbers) and Color farm (recognition of colors) during morning circle. We also learning songs during transitions (for example: opposite and position songs).

  3. Demetria Jones says:

    I believe in learning through song. We sing the numeral song (recognition of numbers) and color farm (recognition of numbers) every morning during morning circle. We also sing learning during all transitions. Two examples are opposite song and position song.
    Demetria

Leave a comment